Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson

Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson

Summary from the publisher:
‘As I sleep, my mind will erase everything I did today. I will wake up tomorrow as I did this morning. Thinking I’m still a child. Thinking I have a whole lifetime of choice ahead of me …’ Memories define us. So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep? Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love – all forgotten overnight. And the one person you trust may only be telling you half the story. Welcome to Christine’s life.

Holy crap, readers.

This was one of the most twisted books I’ve read in a long time.

Imagine that you wake up every day not knowing who or where you are, and you have to trust that the person you’re living with is giving you the correct details about your life. Frightening concept, no? I thought so, and S.J. Watson exploits those fears thoroughly in this incredible debut thriller.

Ten years ago, Christine suffered a terrible trauma that left her with a form of amnesia that prevents her from retaining memories. When she starts to see a new doctor, he advises her to keep a journal, and by studying the journal every day, she realizes that her husband, Ben, is keeping things from her, things that she wants to remember. It’s Christine’s journey to break free that really makes this book. The more she learned about herself, the quicker I turned the pages.

This is also one of those books that keeps you guessing. I knew that something was wrong with Christine’s situation from the beginning, and different theories emerged as I read, including one that very closely resembled the final twist. Even so, the tension was so high by the time I got to the end that I was completely gobsmacked, not to mention creeped out.

Reading Before I Go to Sleep was like watching a Hitchcock film. If you’re in the mood for a nail biter, this is definitely for you.

(And, very conveniently, Before I Go to Sleep was released in paperback today.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

