My teetering to-be-read shelf…

Those are all the books in my to-be-read pile.

You’ll notice that in the right corner of the photo, there is another book with a bookmark in it. That would be what I’m currently reading (Vienna Waltz by Tracy “Teresa” Grant). Someone needs a mandatory freeze on her library card.

*ducks head*

On the bright side, I should be able to get a review or two (or several) out of these books.

Just two quick things from my last review:
First, I zipped through Faithful Place. I think this might be the best place to start if you’re going to attempt Tana French, because the case is extremely personal to the protagonist and, as a result, is a bit more fleshed out than the other two. It’s an incredible study on family life in The Liberties and how those bonds are tested, and it was the only one of Ms. French’s books where I was upset that she left things slightly ambiguous, because I really wanted to know how things played out. And I really liked learning more about Frank Mackey’s past, because he was a bit of a bollocks in The Likeness. I cannot wait for Broken Harbor to come out next summer (thanks to the folks at Viking for the heads up on that one). I’m curious whose story it will be—I have a few ideas.

Second, I also finished A Game of Thrones. For the most part, I enjoyed. It reminded me of Lord of the Rings, but I found it a little easier to relate to as far as parallels with our history are concerned (knights, kings, religion, etc.). Parts were a little dense, but there were also moments where the tension was so high that I wanted to scream. Perhaps the best part of all is being able to discuss it with all of my friends, who are addicted to the T.V. series and are reading the books after the fact. A Clash of Kings is next in the queue.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

