Happy birthday, Roald Dahl!

Roald Dahl is one of the reasons why I became a reader. Matilda and The Witches were childhood staples, and I loved them so much that the covers were in tatters and the pages were falling out. When I first read them, the appeal was that these children were my age and going on these outrageous adventures. It’s only now that I see that these cleverly written and illustrated tales were part old-fashioned morality tale, part brilliant social commentary, and I adore them all the more.

“Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.”

Happy birthday to the man who made me believe.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Happy birthday, Roald Dahl!

  1. This post brought a smile to my face. Roald Dahl will always be a treasured author to me. The BFG, Matilda, The Twits – I remember them all from my childhood. I haven’t read any of his books since I was young; after reading this post, I believe I will have to pick one up and read it again. I love rediscovering things from my childhood and seeing them in a completely different light.
    I hadn’t realized today was his birthday! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. I’m pretty sure I’ve never read any Dahl (shamefully!). I might try to rectify that this winter!

Leave a Reply

